Workspaces serve as distinct spaces within an account where projects, team members, and budgets are housed. Using workspaces you can create multiple dscout environments for different teams of users dedicated to a particular area of research or aligned with a cost center. Workspaces can either be public, seen by anyone on the account, or private, seen by selected members only.
Create a workspace
- Account owners and account admins can create and delete workspaces.
- First, navigate to the Account management tab. To get there from your homepage either press the 'Account management' button in the upper right corner, or press 'View workspaces in account management' below your workspaces.
- Once you are on the Workspace page, press the black 'Create workspace' button to create a new workspace.
If this option is not available to you, then you do not have permissions to add a workspace. Reach out to your dscout Account Manager to learn more about setting up a workspace in your account.
- Step 1
General Information: Name your workspace and decide if you would like to add a description– for example the project, area of research, or even team/department this workspace has been created for.
Privacy: choose whether you would like your workspace to be 'public' or 'private'.
- If your workspace is set to 'public' anyone in the account is able to see the team the workspace belongs to, their description, and members who belong to it.
- If your workspace is set to 'private', only people who have been added to that workspace as members can see the contents of the workspace.
- Step 2
- Add members to your workspace.
- Step 3
- Allocate funds that are available in your account to create support hour, activity credit, and incentive balances.
- Account owners and admins are added to all workspaces and all projects by default. Only account owners, admins, and dscout staff can add members to a workspace.
- Researchers, managers, and members are only able to see balances for workspaces they have been added to.
- Contributors and viewers are not able to see any workspace balances.
- For both 'public' and 'private' workspaces, seeing a workspaces’ projects (missions + data), still requires you add someone using the 'Add Collaborators' button. Regardless of if they are a member of the workspace or not.
Please note: All balances are related to the current subscription term you are in. They do not reflect usage or balances from previous terms.
- Who can edit balances
- Only account owners, account admins, and dscout staff can edit balances within a workspace. Please reach out to your account manager with any questions regarding workspace balances.
- Support hours, Credits/Completes and Incentives
- Allocated: Shows the number of support hours, credits/completes, and incentives that have been allocated to that workspace for the subscription period. (total allocated located in the denominator below each usage bar on the left)
- Used: Shows you the number of support hours, credits/completes, and incentives that have been used out of the total allocated amount. (total used located in the numerator below each usage bar on the left)
- Remaining: Total number of support hours, credits/completes, and incentives that are remaining and available to use. Remaining = Allocated - Used (Total remaining located to the right of the category (e.g. support hours, credits/completes, or incentives) in bold)
- Available for allocation: Support hours, credits/completes, and incentives that belong to the account but are not yet allocated to a particular workspace. When updating allocations, this shows you what is available for you to pull from or return to, and can be re-allocated to another workspace if not used.
- Updating allocations
- This is where you go to make adjustments to your budget. You can adjust your balances using what is available in the ‘Available for allocation’ field or return hours/credits/incentive funds back to the available account pool for another workspace to use.
Update your workspace balances
- Account owners, admins, and dscout staff can set up workplace balances. If you do not have permissions to and need to set up a workplace balance, please reach out to your dscout account manager.
- To set up your workplace balance, first choose the workspace you want to allocate funds to and open up it's settings.
- Navigate to the balances tab and click on the 'Update allocations' modal.
- You can adjust your balance using what’s available in the 'Available for allocation' field or return hours/credits/incentive dollars back to the available account pool for another workspace to use.
Move balances between workspaces
In some cases you may want to move budget between workspaces. If nothing is available on the account for allocation but you want to transfer funds from one workspace to another.
- You first need to deduct from the workspace you want to take funds from. Open up the balance tab in the settings of the workspace you want to deduct from. (In the example below, we are deducting from the workspace: Quiet Friends.)
- Go to their 'Update allocations' modal.
- Deduct the amount of support hours/activity credits/incentives you want to transfer from their balance. Then confirm your change. (In the example below we are deducting 10 activity credits, and $100 in incentives from the workspace: Quiet Friends.)
- Navigate to the workspace you want to give funds to and open up the 'Balances' tab in the settings of that workspace. (In the example below, we will be adding to the workspace: Loud Friends.)
- Go to the second workspace's 'Update allocations' modal and add the amount of support hours/activity credits/incentives you want to add from the first workspace’s balance. Then confirm your change. (In the example below we are adding 10 activity credits, and $100 in incentives to the workspace: Loud Friends.)
- You have successfully reallocated funds from one workspace to another!
Navigate between multiple workspaces
- If you are a member of more than one workspace, it’s important that you create every project in the correct workspace. This way the research in every project is associated with the correct workspace’s balance and usage.
- If a project is created in the wrong workspace, reach out to your dscout account manager or research advisor and they can assist with moving it.