So you've been invited to your first Diary mission—congrats! In this article, you'll learn all about:

Not sure what a mission is or what all these dscout terms mean? Check out this article for a rundown of our dscout lingo!

 

How to accept your invitation

To accept your invitation to the mission, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your account on the dscout mobile app.
  2. Find the tab labeled Missions (rocket icon) on the bottom navigation bar and tap on it.
  3. Find the mission you’ve been invited to under the Invites section and tap on the image to continue.
  4. When you tap on the card, you’ll land on the Mission Overview page. You can read up more about the mission details, instructions, structure, and invite date here.
  5. To accept the invitation and get started, tap on Accept Invitation.
  6. To decline the invitation, tap on Decline.
  7. If you want to message your mission leader, tap on the messaging icon in the top right corner of the screen. Any message you send here will go directly to your mission leader.

P1.png

 

Who's your mission leader?

Mission leaders are the folks in charge. They're the ones reviewing your entries and making sure you've completed everything you need to in order to be paid. They're also available in case you have questions that aren't answered in the mission overview or activity instructions, or if you have trouble completing a mission. You can contact yours by tapping the "Messages" tab while viewing a mission.

Sometimes, the mission leader is a representative of dscout. Other times, your mission leader could be someone from a company that is using dscout for their own research purposes.

 

Requirements for getting paid

If you follow the mission instructions and complete all the required activities and entries (on time and thoughtfully, of course!), we’ll take the time to review your entries. So long as you did everything that was asked of you and provided quality responses, your mission leader will mark you as approved for payments!

 

How to find your mission instructions

Since your payment depends on you following all of the mission instructions, it's crucial to know where your instructions are located: within your Mission Overview, and in each individual activity. We recommend that you check out the Mission Overview to get the full picture, deadlines, and details for your mission and the activity instructions for the finer details about how to complete individual entries.

Android

  1. Access your In Progress tab on the bottom of your app’s navigation bar.
  2. Find the mission in question and tap on it.
  3. Here, you’ll notice the number of activities, days, reward amount, and number of messages on the top of the screen beneath the mission title.
  4. Tap on the Information icon on the top right corner of your screen (next to the Messages icon) to display your full mission overview.
  5. The mission overview should display more information about the mission, including more detailed instructions and deadlines.

P2.png

iOS

  1. Access your In Progress tab on the bottom of your app’s navigation bar
  2. Find the mission in question and tap on it
  3. Under the mission title, you’ll see the number of activities, number of expected days, the mission reward, and the number of messages.
  4. Tap on Overview to display your full mission overview.
  5. The mission overview should display more information about the mission, including more detailed instructions and deadlines.
     

P3.png

 

How to submit an entry

Submitting entries is a breeze! Check out the steps below:

  1. To start an entry, tap the "Get Started" button. This will say "New entry" after you've submitted an entry for the activity you're working on.
  2. After you’re done answering all the questions in an activity, you’ll be given the opportunity to review your entry before you submit it. Check out the Review Entry screen below. 
  3. Submit your entry by tapping on the Submit Entry button on the bottom of your screen.
  4. If the activity you're working on requires more than one entry, simply tap the New Entry button to get started on another one!

Once you submit an entry, you won't be able to change your answers for that entry. You can, however, submit an additional entry for the activity with the updated information. There is no limit to how many entries you can submit.

P4.png

 

Why is the next activity still locked?

This depends on if your mission is a Manual mission or an Automatic mission. Read more on the difference between the two below:

 

Manual

The next activity of your mission will be locked until a specific date and time and can only be unlocked by your mission leader. Manual missions will display "Available upon researcher release. Stay tuned!" on the locked activity. See below:

P5.png

If your mission leader hasn't unlocked an activity for you and the communicated deadline is approaching, be sure to send them a message. Read on in the next section for how to do this!

 

Automatic missions

The next activity will open immediately after you submit all the required entries in the previous activity. To locate the number of required entries, look at the numbers just to the right of the activity label; this will say something like "0 of 1 entries" or "1 of 4 entries." Once the numbers match, your next activity will unlock!

These types of missions allow you to finish the mission at your own pace. Automatic missions will display "Available once previous activities have been completed" on the locked activity. See below:

P6.png

 

Messaging your mission leader

To message your mission leader, follow the steps below:

  1. Find the mission in the In Progress tab and tap on it. Don't see your mission? Check out our Pro tip below for information on accessing closed missions.
  2. Tap on the Messages icon on the top-right corner of your screen. (Please note: the Messages icon will look slightly different depending on your mobile device’s operating system. For Android devices, the icon will resemble a dialogue box whereas iOS devices will display more of a bubble icon with a number in it. See below).

P7.png

Pro tip: If you don’t see your mission in this tab, it probably means your mission leader closed it. You can still access closed missions to message your mission leader. Messaging in closed missions functions the same way as messaging in missions that are in progress by navigating to the "Closed missions" or "Archived missions" tab by scrolling to the bottom of your "In Progress" page.

 

Participating in a desktop activity Diary mission

You may be invited to a mission that includes a desktop activity; this means that instead of submitting a Diary entry from your mobile app, you'll complete it on a desktop computer or laptop instead! From the mobile app, you'll start the entry and have a "magic link" sent to you via email. Open up that link on a computer, run through the device setup, and get going on your entry from your computer!

Running into trouble getting started? Check out this article for some general troubleshooting steps on desktop activities.

Was this article helpful?

936 out of 1059 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request