Use case projects
In subscription accounts (not project-based accounts), dscout staff can mark past projects as “use case” projects on the project page, making those projects visible to all users on the account.
The goal of this feature is to increase visible usage of dscout at customer organizations by allowing account owners, managers, and project leads -- through conversation with their Research Advisor or Account Manager -- to make their most successful, relevant dscout studies accessible to all users on their account, for knowledge sharing and replication.
Marking a project as a use case
On the project page, there is a Featured Use Case toggle in the right sidebar, above the project link manager. Turn the toggle ON to mark a project as a use case. The Featured Use Case toggle is only available for staff in v1 release; customers will not see or use this toggle.
Marking a project as a use case gives ALL account users, including viewers, access to that project from the account home page. As with all other projects, a user’s level of access/ability within the use case project(s) depends on their account role (owner, manager, member, viewer).
Technically, we do this by adding all current account users as collaborators on the project; as new folks are added to the account, they are also added to any existing use case projects as collaborators. This means that if you open the Add Collaborators modal on a use case project, you’ll see all users on the account as collaborators on the project.
Important things to keep in mind...
- If a customer adds a viewer to a specific project, that viewer will also have access to any use case projects in the account. Keep this in mind for agency customers especially, who may be in the habit of adding their clients as viewers only on certain projects.
- If there are specific individuals in an account that you/your customers does not want to have access to a specific use case project, you can remove those individuals from the use case project manually via the Add Collaborators modal by clicking the “x” next to their name.
- We do not send the standard “[Researcher Name] added you to [Project Name]” mailer to users when they are given access to a use case project. We will consider adding a new “[Researcher Name] highlighted a new use case” mailer in a future version.
Viewing a use case project
On the Home page, projects marked as a use case will appear for all account users in the “All Projects” and “Shared with Me” tabs. While use case projects are pinnable like all other projects, they will not be forced to the top of a user’s project list; they will appear in order by date created.
Use case projects are treated with a yellow banner and star, and display a standard message from the project creator that reads: “This project is a great example of how you can use dscout for research at [ACCOUNT NAME]. We encourage you to take a look!” The project creator’s first name and last initial are visible on hover over their avatar.
On the project page, projects marked as a use case get a similar treatment, with yellow ribbon and star, and the same message from the project creator.
Unmarking a project as a use case
To unmark a project as a use case, start by toggling OFF Featured Use Case on the project page.
This will prevent any new users added to the account from seeing the use case project. However, all users who were given access to the project while it was marked as a use case will have continued access to the project.
You can manually remove any users who should no longer have access via the Add Collaborators modal. We understand this may be tedious (lots of “x” clicking for big accounts), but that’s our v1 approach.