dscout Live allows for moderators to have attendees join their sessions while they are running, without the scout being aware of these attendees.  This can be particularly useful if you have curious team members, stakeholders, or if you need some assistance with note-taking.  Currently, there are 2 ways to invite people to view your Live session:

  • Guests - no account needed - desktop missions only -
    • Any person who has been invited to a dscout Live desktop session via a shared session link and access code is able to attend an active Live desktop session as a Guest
    • Guests do not have access to any tools during the Live session. This includes things like markers and in-session chat.
    • Guests will not be able to access your project, so they cannot see any project details or post-session recordings.  They will only be able to see individual session details and watch the session in real-time.
    • Guests can not join Live mobile sessions at this time—only Live desktop sessions.

A session can have any number of Observers (Live desktop + mobile) or Guests (Live mobile only), but only one scout and one moderator. A moderator can be any researcher or Account Manager on the project who plans to engage face-to-face with a scout during a session.

 

Inviting GUESTS to a Live session

Before your Guest can attend a Live session, you must first create a Guest Session Link.  You can do this from the Manage > Scouts table by clicking the link icon next to the Start Session button for an individual Live session.  Then click Guest Share Link.

Note: you will only see this menu in Live desktop sessions as guest links are not available for Live mobile at this time.

session_link.png

 

This will open the Guest Session Link modal.  In this modal, you can set a password and then copy session link with password.

password_added.png

 

A password MUST be entered and saved before the copy session button will be enabled.

guest_session_link.png

 

Once you click Copy Session Link with Password, you'll see a confirmation at the top of the screen.  Your clipboard will now have the unique Guest URL and password that you can then paste into places like a calendar invite, email, or any other communication channel.

If you choose to change the password for that session, you will need to repeat the process outlined above as the previous URL and password will no longer work for your Guests.

Read more about the Guest experience here!

 

Inviting OBSERVERS to a Live Session

Before your Observer can attend a Live session, they must:

  • have a dscout account
  • be added to the project as a collaborator.  Type in their name (if your colleague is already on your dscout account) or email address (if your colleague does not yet have a dscout profile) to add them to your project.

To copy a session link to send to your Observers, navigate to the Manage > Scouts table and click the link icon next to the Start Session button for an individual Live session. (Note: this link is identical to the session link you and your scouts will use!)

In a Live Mobile mission, clicking the link icon will save the link to your clipboard—no further action required!:

Screen_Shot_2022-08-03_at_10.44.31_AM.png

 

In a Live Desktop mission, you will see a dropdown with two options—Collaborator and Guests links. Click Collaborators Share Link option:

session_link.png

 

This will open the Collaborator Session Link modal.  In this modal, you can either:

  • copy the session link that you can then paste into places like a calendar invite, email, or any other communication channel.
  • share the session link via email.

__Final_Designs_-_No_Account_Needed_-_Guest_2021-06-02_at_10.22.29_AM.jpg

 

Simply type in their name (if your colleague is already on your dscout account) or email address (if your colleague does not yet have a dscout profile) to add them to your project.  The dscout platform will confirm at the top of the page that an email with the session information was sent to your collaborators.

Screen_Recording_2021-06-02_at_10.21.40_AM.gif

 

Read more about the Observer experience here!

 

 

Stabilize Calls for More than 2 Attendees

Moderators now have the option to turn on Simulcast before their Live sessions, which aims to stabilize calls for more than 2 people. If you do not plan on having Guests or Observers joining your Live sessions, we do not recommend turning the toggle on before joining the session.

Pre-Test_-_Simulcast_on.png

Here's some information to help you understand whether or not toggling on observer optimization is the right choice for your Live sessions! 

 

Observer Optimization: ON

No Guests or Observers We do not recommend enabling observer optimization. Although call quality will stabilize, you may experience pixelation in the first minute or so of your session recording.
1+ Guests or Observers with good internet connection/quality Little impact on call quality, but may experience slightly lower session recording quality.
1+ Guests or Observers with poor internet connection/quality Improved in-session call quality for all participants with good internet connections. Improved session recording quality.

 

Observer Optimization: OFF

No Guests or Observers No impact on in- or post-session call quality.
1+ Guests or Observers with good internet connection/quality Little to no impact on session recording.
1+ Guests or Observers with poor internet connection/quality May result in poor in-session call quality as well as session recording pixelation or poor video quality.

Was this article helpful?

10 out of 12 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request