Edit a launched screener or study
Screeners
Usability tests
Media surveys
Intercept studies
Sometimes, you might want to see how a screener or study performs with actual participants before opening it to a larger group. Getting responses from only a few people can help gauge whether your questions are clear, whether responses are proving insightful, or whether you need to make any adjustments. Consider this a sort of “soft launch,” a way to perfect your research before receiving the bulk of your data.
Usability tests and media surveys also offer test mode, which lets you gather sample data that is then deleted when you launch your study. For more information, see Test a usability test mission or Test a media survey.
Once you’ve received one or two responses, you can then make modifications to your research, adjust your participant limit to match your target n-size, and publish your changes to new participants.
While you can edit a screener or study regardless of your initial participant limit, making edits will split your data when viewing responses. This can make analysis difficult if you edit a study after receiving a large number of responses you want to view all at once.
What can be edited post-launch?
There are a few restrictions to what can be edited post-launch. Refer to the sections below to learn more about what can and can’t be changed in screeners and studies.
Consider how crucial an edit is to your study before you make it and only proceed if the edit is necessary. Keep in mind that edits may split your response data. If you want to keep all responses in a single view, consider duplicating your study and re-launching instead of editing your launched study.
Screeners
Here’s a breakdown of what can and can’t be edited after launching a screener:
Hero image.
Screener description.
Screener teaser.
Targeting attributes.
Question prompts, question settings (unless otherwise noted), and answer choices.
Incentive.
Recruitment approach.
Studies
Here’s a breakdown of what can and can’t be edited after launching a usability test, media survey, or intercept study:
Hero image.
Mission description.
Mission teaser.
Targeting attributes.
Screener and mission question prompts, question settings (unless otherwise noted), and answer choices.
Incentive.
Recruitment approach.
Informed consent.
Device type.
Recording option.
Edit a launched or closed screener
When finding participants for a study, sometimes your recruitment criteria will change. Maybe you need to broaden your search or narrow it down. Regardless, you can edit a launched screener to make the necessary changes. You can also make edits to a closed screener and then relaunch it.
Edits made to a screener are only visible to participants who access the screener after the edits are published. Edits are not visible to participants who’ve already applied or who are in-progress. To pause recruitment, close your screener, make your edits, then relaunch.
Open your screener in Dscout.
Click Edit in the top-right corner. A modal appears displaying a few reminders.
Click Edit screener in the modal. This enables Editing mode for your screener, as indicated in the top-left corner.
Edit your screener as needed. You can make edits on the Overview and Screener tabs.
Click Launch in the top-right corner. Or click Publish if you’re editing an open screener. A confirmation modal will appear.
Click Publish in the modal to verify.
Now, your edits are live and will apply to new applicants who begin your screener from this point forward. If you wish to discard edits at any time instead of publishing, click Exit or X in the top-right corner.
If you want to collaborate on edits with others in your organization, you can leave the screener in editing mode. Simply navigate away from the screener without publishing or discarding your edits. Others will see the screener is in Editing mode from the Projects page. Once all edits have been made, follow the steps above to publish them to your participants.
If a screener reaches its participant limit while in editing mode, you’ll need to relaunch it and invite more participants for them to see any changes you make.
Edit a launched study
Whether you’re running a usability test, media survey, or intercept study, you can make edits after it’s launched. You can also make edits to a closed study and then relaunch it.
Edits made to a study are only visible to participants who access the study after the edits are published. Edits are not visible to participants who’ve already completed the study or who are in-progress. To pause recruitment, close your study, make your edits, then relaunch.
Open your study in Dscout.
Click Edit in the top-right corner. A modal appears displaying a few reminders.
Click Edit mission in the modal. This enables Editing mode for your study, as indicated in the top-left corner.
Edit your study as needed. You can make edits on the Overview, Screener/Intercept, and Media survey/Usability test/Mission tabs.
Click Publish in the top-right corner. Or click Launch if you’re editing a closed study. A confirmation modal will appear.
Click Publish in the modal to verify.
Now, your edits are live and will apply to new participants who begin your study from this point forward. If you wish to discard edits at any time instead of publishing, click Exit in the top-right corner.
If you want to collaborate on edits with others in your organization, you can leave the study in editing mode. Simply navigate away from the study without publishing or discarding your edits. Others will see the study is in Editing mode from the Projects page. Once all edits have been made, follow the steps above to publish them to your participants.
If a study reaches its participant limit while in editing mode, you’ll need to relaunch it and invite more participants for them to see any changes you make.
Analyze an edited screener or study
Editing a screener or study after it’s launched affects how you’ll analyze data and responses. You won’t lose any data by editing your study after launch, but how that data is displayed in Dscout will change.
Questions view
From the Questions view, you’ll see the most recent version of your study by default. This version reflects the most recent edits you’ve made to your screener or study as well as the responses received after those edits were published.
To view responses to previous versions of your data, use the See version drop-down at the top of the page.
Version selections do not persist across views. Make sure to select the version you want to see when working between the Questions view and the Participants view.
Participants view
From the Participants view, you’ll see all participants listed by default, regardless of which version of the study they saw. And opening an individual participant’s responses displays the questions exactly as that participant saw them.
However, you can filter this list of participants by version using the See version drop-down at the top of the page. Selecting a version here will display only the participants who saw that version of your study.
Version selections do not persist across views. Make sure to select the version you want to see when working between the Questions view and the Participants view.
You can also view all responses by exporting your screener or study data. Then, you can combine responses from all versions of a single question to aid in analysis. For more information, see How can I export my data?