Related to:

Test mode in Express allows you to test your mission with up to 5 testers (plus yourself) before launching with actual participants. This will enable you to double-check that there are no errors, as missions cannot be edited once launched. It also allows you to preview test data until the test ends.

Test mode overview

  • All mission validations must be resolved before you can put your Express mission into testing. 
  • If you have a Viewer seat with dscout, you cannot put a mission into test mode. 
  • After starting the test, you will automatically be added as a tester, and a link to the mission will be available
  • You can invite up to 5 additional testers via email
  • Testers will need to have or create a dscout account
  • Screening questions will not be included in the test
  • Your test will automatically end after 5 days and can be ended manually before that
  • You'll be able to see test data in analysis until the test ends

Test mode in Express allows you to test your mission with up to 5 testers (plus yourself) before launching with actual participants. This allows you to double-check that there are no errors, as missions cannot be edited once launched. It also allows you to preview test data until the test ends. 

How to test your Express mission

  1. Select Test in the upper right-hand corner of your mission.
  2. Hit Start test.
  1. Add the names and email addresses of up to 5 testers and select Send tester invites. Invited testers who are not already dscout users will have an account created for them, and they’ll need to finish their account setup when they follow the invite link. Once test mode begins, you and your testers can always access the test mission using the test mission link.
  2. While in test mode, your mission status will show Testing. While testing your mission, you cannot edit the mission design or preview the mission using the preview button. Once you have ended the test session, you can make edits again. Select the Testing status to add more testers or to get a link to your test mission.
  1. During test mode, your test data will appear in the Analysis tab of your mission. Test mode data can only be viewed on the dscout platform and cannot be exported or used for playlists. 
  2. Once testing is complete, hit End Test. If not turned off, test mode will expire in 5 days. All data collected during test mode will be deleted once the test mode ends. 

The tester experience

You can invite up to 5 people to test your mission. Once invited, they will receive an email that links them to the Express mission test. From there, they will be directed to start a test entry on the appropriate platform (desktop or mobile). 

  • For mobile media surveys and usability tests, testers will be required to install the dscout mobile app.
  • For desktop usability missions, testers will be required to install the dscout chrome extension.
  • Desktop media surveys do not require anything to be installed.

Each tester can submit one entry during a test. If testers need to submit more entries, end the test and restart test mode. 

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request